Guts and what it takes to break away from the mould

I just read this post on Penelope Trunk’s blog. It talks about having the guts to do something and not everyone does. It made me realise I’m in a unique situation. I have been here for 6 weeks now, and I am still taking my time to get into a routine. Some days are easier than others. However, I did manage to go home up North and stay with my mum and dad for a couple of days which was so lovely. There’s something about being in your family home that just helps you to relax. Sitting in the kitchen with my mum it felt like I’d never left. I think it made me realise that it’s OK to miss your mum and want to visit, but I also have to realise that I have to become a little stronger on my own so that I can stay home alone whilst Mr. T is at work.

I’ve reached a turning point this week. I realise now I need to get out and about and do something with my time. My quest for work led to a floodgate which I didn’t want and they were pushing me to go for work that I want to not do now. This is a unique opportunity and I’m still trying to figure out what the best course of action is so that I try something new and also don’t go stir crazy.

Does anyone have any suggestions for activities, hobbies etc. especially in London? I’m such a northerner that it took me a whole month before I braved the tube with hubby on Saturday lol! We went to Oxford Street and it was actually pretty good. The shops are lighting up and gearing up for Christmas, which will be an experience I’m sure!

3 thoughts on “Guts and what it takes to break away from the mould

  1. Do you mind paying for things? Join a gym, go to classes. Loads of photo walks always happen in and around London. It depends on what you’re interested in doing. And how far you’re willing to go within London too. It’s London, if you’re interested in something, they’ll be some sort of activity out there for it.

    Like this

Leave a Reply

