Marrakesh Day 4 – The one where i face my fears and live to tell the tale

Our last full day in Marrakesh, we decided to do an excursion. S bhai and I decided we wanted to do something crazy like parachuting out of a plane but our spouses both balked at the suggest. R and Mr. T were like no! So, we decided to do something we could all enjoy, and booked a trip to the Ourika Waterfalls through our hotel instead. Ourika Valley is 3 hours out of Marrakech so the package included lunch and being driven to the destination. We had to pay an extra 30 dirhams each for the guided tour, which we weren’t told about, but was an excellent extra.

The day started early. We were due to be picked up at 8 am from the hotel, the driver arrived at 8.15 am. We were then driven to another point where we got into a coach with several other tourists for our trip. There was a French family and two friends, along with other couples. The drive was fun, we stopped half way through for tea and so the driver could have breakfast. It was an absolutely lovely sunny day. After so much sitting, we finally got to the town.

We were met with our guide Hamid who explained his fees and then we set off. I do have to say this point that I was wearing the wrong gear for this trip. I was wrapped up in a light jumper and it turned out to be a warm day. The last time I take fashion advise from Mr. T!

We started with a gentle stroll and were told about the gorgeous olive trees that belonged to separate tribes in the village. Each tree had a special marking that indicated whose tree it was.

Then came the first big shock for me. We were told we’d have to walk all the way from one side of the waterfall to the other side on foot, on a steep path. The hike would take about an hour or so depending on how fast you could walk.

Ourika Valley Mountains

Ourika Valley Mountains

My face just dropped as I am terrified of heights! Mr. T stopped laughing for about 2 seconds, and bless his heart did hold my hand throughout the entire ordeal as i cried and wept my way down the trail. The Swedish older couple and the rest of the party pretty much laughed at me, but I didn’t care. I was going to make it all the way down!

My Follow me pose down the Ourika valley despite my terror

My Follow me pose down the Ourika valley despite my terror

We were about halfway down the path when Mr. T said, why don’t we pose for a Follow Me pose? I looked at him like he was out of his mind, but I did so despite me terror.

Ourika valley Waterfalls Path

Ourika valley Waterfalls Path

We stopped for a quick loo break at the bottom of the valley and to take in the view. Then we were ushered a bit further to be taken closer to the waterfalls via boat.

The wooden boat we were on to get closer to the Ourika Valley Waterfalls

The wooden boat we were on to get closer to the Ourika Valley Waterfalls

Ourika valley boat view

Ourika valley boat view

In the picture above you can see how far down we climbed. But you know something? It was one of the hardest but most rewarding climbs down ever. I’m still terrified of heights, but I know if I can do that I can do anything inshallah.

Ourika Valley Waterfalls view

Ourika Valley Waterfalls view

The boat took us to the other side of the waterfall where we stopped for lunch which was part of the package. We were able to have either chicken tikka skewers or tagine. We opted for both and it was honestly the best Tagine I’ve had since Paris!

Our view of the waterfalls at lunch

Our view of the waterfalls at lunch

Taking in our breathtaking view at lunch

Taking in our breathtaking view at lunch with S bhai and R. Mr. T took the photo.

After lunch, we walked uphill where there were thankfully some stairs! We got up to the other side of the falls and marvelled at how much we’d seen in one day.

Ourika valley falls from other side

Ourika valley falls from other side

That was the end of the excursion and our last day in Marrakesh. We went back to the hotel, lay down and then went for dinner in Jemma El Fenna. Everybody else had Tagine but i had bolognaise pasta! Our flight was mid-afternoon so we had breakfast the next day, checked out and went for a little wander nearby. Lunch was at McDonalds and then the hotel transfer home.

We landed back in London quite late, and ended up having dinner at R and S’s house. Then we came home and promptly fell asleep.

It was an eventful trip which was very much needed. I went on it quite fragile and frizzled out and came back with some wonderful memories and a renewed sense of vigour.

Marrakesh is a beautiful place that should be explored. It’s best done over 3 or 4 days unless you want to explore the rest of Morroco which might require longer.

4 thoughts on “Marrakesh Day 4 – The one where i face my fears and live to tell the tale

  1. Looks utterly fantastic. Would have loved to have done that hike!

    Though question… you have a fear of heights, but you’d do a parachute jump? Legitimate question! I have friends who loathe rollercoasters and heights and things of that ilk, but do parachute jumps and the sort!

    Like

Leave a Reply

